Caramel Cappucino. Hmmm!

When I was a little kid, maybe around at the age of 8 or so, I always believed that praying is one heck of an ordealing process.

First and foremost, there goes the sign of the cross (I was raised under a Catholic family). Back then, it seemed that my prayer wouldn’t get “validated” unless I perform the sign of the cross first. It was some sort of a ‘key’ to open the door for initiating a conversation with the boss upstairs.

After I get “access: granted”, then the whole litany begins. The body of a prayer consists anything from thanking the Lord for letting me get an ‘A’ in some sort of a quiz earlier that day, to asking for forgiveness for cheating my way on that quiz to get an ‘A’.

Then there are times when I absolutely don’t have anything to say at all in the first place. I ‘pray’ just because the nun in my values/ethics class told us to do so. We recite the Lord’s prayer altogether, and most of the time, ‘Hail Mary’ (a devotion prayer to Mary, mother of Jesus) was also included. It was like a recital. The class would be divided in half. The first half will recite the first part of Hail Mary, the second half does the second part of the Hail Mary. Then it goes back and forth for an x number of times. It confused me. We get scolded if we recited the wrong part.

After all is said and done, the sign of the cross has to be done again to close the prayer. Like licking the flaps of the mail envelope and stamping it, ready to be sent out. If there is no stamp, the mail will be sent back to you, likewise if you did not perform the sign of the cross. Being the naive child I was, I thought maybe that’s why there were a lot of unanswered prayers.

Those were the times…

As I looked back, it’s kinda funny to think that praying should not be that trivial and organized. I shouldn’t have thought so hard of what to say, how to say it, and when to say what I have to say to God, Heck, I don’t even have to have anything to say at all! Because real relationships don’t require constant verbal transmission all the time. There are some mute couples in the world too, you know.

Presence is what matters most.

Do we focus to Him when we pray? Does He have our undivided attention? I would be somewhat upset if a person doesn’t really focus on our conversation when we talk.

So think about those fleeting thoughts we have while walking through the oval. When we think of someone because we care about them. How about the times when we ponder what on earth are we here for? As I write this post, I think about the words God is putting in me.

The heart of worship is pure at its purest. We should let our feelings and emotions out. I’m sure God cares on what’s going on with our individual lives. We can pray happy, scared, thankful, pissed off, doubtful, and everything else in between. Even Jesus cried out to God feeling abandoned on the cross. See? He wants us relating to Him. He longs for our relationship. He longs for our desires. He desires in us.

Yes. You!

If He is present in our prayers, our hearts and minds are open to Him. We can pour our heart out, even if there is nothing to say at all. I’m sure it’ll be nice to know that somebody thinks of you, somehow… And that’s what He wants in our prayers.

So let’s grab a couple of cup of cappucino, and enjoy this moment doing nothingness…

4 Responses to “Caramel Cappucino. Hmmm!”

  1. sandi Says:

    so umm i’m guessing you had a hard time praying the rosary too huh?

  2. Amy Says:

    Good post 🙂

  3. Gerald G Says:

    Heh, still have my Apostle’s Creed tattoed at the back of my head!

    And hey Amy! 🙂 Nice of you to check this post out. Thanks a lot!

  4. joey_g Says:

    beautiful online information center. greatest work thanks


Leave a Reply

