Five dolla?!

So sitting here at work, – I have doubts calling this kind of activity, “work” since my job responsibilities in this work-study are absolutely asinine that compares to barely lifting a pinkie.- I encounter a lot of people here. This place is a computer lab where sociology students come and do their work. Aside from a good, hefty pay, in relative to what I’m actually doing, one of the reasons why I love this job is because of random encounters with strangeness.

One of my main duties is “to assist students with software and technical difficulties,” more or less helping people out with Microsoft Ofiice. Now, sometimes I get these real dumb, why-even-bother-to-ask questions such as how to turn on the computer, or if they are allowed to save something off their storage devices… my personal favorite was when this girl asked if she can sit in the chair while trying to print something off… ? Maybe I’ve been here for so long, but such questions often leave be bewildered. Talk about the “Doh!” factor.

I find it hard to justify the pay rate my university is paying me for this kind of job. I mean, is it really worth my effort to sit in my butt surfing the net and feeding printers papers when get it gets paper hungry. But hey I’m not complaining 🙂

Another perk in this job is that I basically have this whole working time for myself to do anything other than working and such doesn’t interfere with working, if that makes sense. Sayin’ it so, I get paid eating, I get paid sleeping (yes, one time I opened the lab early in the morning, sat down, slouched over and slept for 5 hours, woke up, clocked out, made my checking account some $$$ fatter 2 weeks later), and best of all, getting paid while typing down an entry like this, which means by the time you finish reading this post, I am around $47.58 richer than you. 

2 Responses to “Five dolla?!”

  1. Julie P Says:

    G, I need that job!! LOL, no see we have completely opposite jobs, I get paid nothing and yet I love what I do. It keeps me busy and mostly entertained. . .Just so you know I play with kids all day. . .:-)

  2. Lydia Says:

    Sounds like my job this past year…just harder. I asked my boss what I was supposed to do when people asked me how to run a particular program to make music (I was in the music school lab), and he said that there is a manual in the desk across the room, but really, all my job needed was to make sure people don’t steal things. Then I wonder… if someone were to steal something, what would I do? “Stop, or I’ll throw this mouse at you!” I dunno…all I was was security, and had something happened there was little I could do. If someone wants to steal a mac though, I guess it’s more punishment for them than reward anyway.

    I hope you are doing well!


Leave a Reply

